Funded by

Mitglieder anzeigen

In cooperation with

Kulturradio rbb - Hier spielt die Klassik Berliner Morgenpost National Geographic Deutschland zitty Berlin Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus GmbH
RBB Fernsehen

“Really wonderful work. No use describing it, you have to see it!”
The discovery of Nefertiti in Tell el-Amarna

Between 1911 and 1914, excavations on behalf of the German Orient Society (Deutsche Orient-Gesellschaft  - DOG) took place in the Egyptian city of Tell el-Amarna. They were directed by the German archaeologist and building researcher Ludwig Borchardt, since 1907 Director of the Imperial Institute for Egyptian Archaeology in Cairo. In the course of several campaigns, numerous objects dating to the Amarna period were discovered and documented in diaries and lists of finds (also in the form of sketches, aquarelles and photographies). The structure of the city of Amarna, particularly of the homes, was registered by Borchardt in great detail.

The most spectacular excavation find took place on 6th December 1912, when Borchardt discovered the coloured Nefertiti bust. He made the following remark in his diary – written in the typical short style of writing: “Life-sized painted bust of the queen, 47 cm (18.5 inches) high. With the blue wig cut straight on top, and garlanded by a ribbon half-way up. Colours look like freshly painted. Really wonderful work. No use describing it, you have to see it.“

Following the then usual practice, the division of the excavation finds took place on 20th January 1913, as documented in the official division of finds protocol. In the presence of Gustav Lefebvre, Inspector of the Egyptian Antiquities Service, the division was made “à moitié exacte”, i.e. into two equal parts. The bust of the “colourful queen” as well as a large number of royal portrait heads was awarded to Berlin.

These objects passed into the possession of James Simon, who had financed the excavations. 1913 he made them available for an initial exhibition of the Amarna finds in the then Berliner Ägyptischen Museum. All the finds from the 1912/1913 excavation campaign were put on display – with the exception, however, of the Nefertiti bust. This was only presented to the public in a new exhibition of the collection in 1923/24.

Complementary to the archaeologically historic-culturally based presentation, this exhibition will also be focusing on the history of the excavations, the division of finds and the issue of the requests for their return – let alone the staging of the Nefertiti bust as an art icon and its marketing in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Gefördert durch

Mitglieder anzeigen

In Kooperation mit

Kulturradio rbb - Hier spielt die Klassik Berliner Morgenpost National Geographic Deutschland zitty Berlin Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus GmbH
RBB Fernsehen

„Arbeit ganz hervorragend. Beschreiben nützt nichts, ansehen!“
Der Fund der Nofretete in Tell el-Amarna

Im Auftrag der Deutschen Orient-Gesellschaft (DOG) fanden zwischen 1911 und 1914 Grabungen im ägyptischen Tell el-Amarna statt. Sie standen unter der Leitung des deutschen Archäologen und Bauforschers Ludwig Borchardt, der seit 1907 Direktor des Kaiserlich Deutschen Instituts für Ägyptische Altertumskunde in Kairo war. In mehreren Kampagnen wurden zahlreiche Objekte aus der Amarnazeit geborgen und in Tagebüchern und Fundjournalen sowie in Skizzen, Aquarellen und Fotografien dokumentiert. Auch die Stadtstruktur von Amarna, vor allem der Wohnhäuser, wurde von Borchardt detailliert erfasst.

Der spektakulärste Fund der Grabungen ereignete sich am 6. Dezember 1912, als Borchardt die farblich gefasste Büste der Nofretete entdeckte. Im Tagebuch vermerkte er im typisch-kurzen Schreibstil folgendes: „Lebensgroße bemalte Büste der Königin, 47 cm hoch. Mit der oben gerade abgeschnittenen blauen Perücke, die auf halber Höhe noch ein umgelegtes Band hat. Farben wie eben aufgelegt. Arbeit ganz hervorragend. Beschreiben nützt nichts, ansehen.“

Am 20. Januar 1913 fand der damals üblichen Praxis folgend die Teilung der Grabungsfunde statt, wie es das offizielle Fundteilungsprotokoll belegt. In Anwesenheit von Gustav Lefebvre, Inspektor des ägyptischen Antikendienstes, erfolgte die Teilung à „moitié exacte“, also in zwei gleiche Hälften. Die Büste der „bunten Königin“ sowie eine große Anzahl an königlichen Porträtköpfen wurde Berlin zugesprochen.

Die Objekte gingen in den Besitz von James Simon über, der die Grabungen finanziert hatte. Er stellte sie für eine erste Ausstellung der Amarna-Funde 1913 dem damaligen Berliner Ägyptischen Museum zur Verfügung. In dieser Ausstellung wurde der gesamte Fund aus der Grabung 1912/13 gezeigt, jedoch nicht die Büste der Nofretete. Erst in einer Neuaufstellung der Sammlung 1923/24 wurde sie der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

In der Ausstellung werden ergänzend zur archäologisch-kulturhistorischen Präsentation, die Grabungsgeschichte, die Fundteilung und auch das Thema der Rückgabe-Anfragen thematisiert. Hinzu kommt die Inszenierung der Büste der Nofretete zur Kunst-Ikone und ihrer Vermarktung im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert.